Post Colonial Moment: US Congress' Letter to Bolton

Congress of the United States
Washington DC 20515

November 27, 2006

The Honorable John R Bolton
Permanent US Representative to the United Nations
United States Mission to the United Nations
140 East 45th Street
New York, NY 10017

Fax 212-415-4053

Dear Ambassador Bolton:

We write to express our strong support of the proposed United Nations resolution commemorating the 200th anniversary of the abolition of the transatlantic slave trade. We hope that the United States will join the global coalition in supporting this important and historic effort.

The US Congress has been very clear in its bipartisan condemnation of global slavery and the transatlantic slave trade. Last July, the House passed H. Con. Res. 175, a resolution recognizing the effects and descendents of the transatlantic slave trade throughout the hemisphere. On November 16, 2006, the Senate adopted the resolution unanimously. Additional domestic legislation that has passed the US House of Representatives this session includes resolutions commemorating Juneteenth or the emancipation of slavery in the United States, and the 150th anniversary of the ratification of the 13th Amendment. Similarly, the Senate adopted resolutions condemning slavery and apologizing to the victims of lynching during these repressive eras in our history.

We expect our representation at the United Nations to be a strong vocal supporter of existing efforts to remedy what has been a brutal stain of oppression and discrimination in global history. And we look forward to joining the global celebrations next March 25th on the inaugural International Day for the Commemoration of the 200th Anniversary of the Abolition of the Trans Atlantic Slave Trade.

Thank you in advance for your support of this important and historic measure.


1. Rep Barbara Lee (D-CA)
2. Rep Charles B Rangel (D-NY)
3. Rep Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-OH)
4. Rep Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)
5. Rep Bobby L Rush (D-IL)
6. Rep Jose Serrano (D-NY)
7. Rep Barney Frank (D-MA)
8. Rep Donald Payne (D-NJ)
9. Rep William Jefferson (D-LA)
10. Rep Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)
11. Rep Eleanor Homes Norton (D-DC)
12. Rep Albert R Wynn (D-MD)
13. Rep Jim McGovern (D-MA)
14. Rep John Lewis (D-GA)
15. Rep Diane Watson (D-CA)
16. Rep Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
17. Rep Julia Carson (D-IN)
18. Rep Donna M Christensen (D-VI)
19. Rep Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
20. Rep Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)
21. Rep Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
22. Rep Al Green (D-TX)
23. Rep Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
24. Rep Elijah Cummings (D-MD)


Post a Comment

<< Home